Farm animals refers to as a group of animals which are rear in the farm either for food or for commercial purpose.



  1. Bees 9. Turkey
  2. Poultry 10. Ostrich
  3. Pig 11. Fish
  4. Sheep 12. Cattle
  5. Goal 13. Grass Cutter
  6. Rabbit 14.Bees
  7. Snail 15. Snail
  8. Duck 16. Sheep.



  1. Classification of Farm Animals

Farm animals can be classified into three major group based on

  1. Habitat
  2. Nature of their digestive tract
  3. Classification of Farm Animals according to habitat: Habitat is any environment in which an organism lives naturally Habitat is the natural home of an organisms example, the habitat of the fish is water.

Farm animals are classified into two groups based on their habitat. These are:

(a) Terrestrial and (b) aquatic habitats.

(a). Terrestrial Habitat: This refers animals that live on land. Examples of farm animals that live on land are goat, rabbit, turkey, pig, goat, sheep etc.

(b). Aquatic Habitat: Aquatic Habitat refers to animals that live in water. These animals live inside any body of water such as river, lakes, streams, well etc. examples of farm animals that lives inside water are fishes. Crabs and shrimps.

  1. Classification of farm animals based on the nature of their digestive track or (alimentary canal): Digestive track as that part of the digestive system where digestion of food takes in the body.

Farm animals are grouped into two groups based on the nature of their alimentary canal or digestive tract. These are

(a). Monogastric or non Ruminant animals: These are animals which possess only one stomach and they do not chew the cud (ruminate). They have simple stomach and cannot digest fibers and cellulose. Examples are, pig, birds etc.

(b). Polygastric or ruminant animals: These are farm animals which posses four stomach compartments (ie complex stomach) and can ruminate or chew  the cud. They can chew the cud and digest cellulose and fibres properly.

The four stomach compartments of these animals are rumen (the largest), reticulum, omasum and abomasums (true stomach). Examples of ruminant farm animals farm animals are: sheep, goat, cattle and rabbit. They are all herbivores.

  1. Classification of farm animals based on their uses: some of the uses of farm animals include;
  2. Income: Almost all the farm animals are reared to provide income birth to the farmers and the nation.
  3. Food: Virtually all farm animals provides food for mankind especially protein, minerals and some vitamins.
  4. Hideand Skin: These are derived from the skin of cattle, sheep, goat, rabbit etc. Hide and skin are ived for bags, shoes etc.
  5. Milk: Milk as derived from farm animals like cow.
  6. Animal dung or Manure: This is produced mainly by all terrestrial animals like cattle, sheep, goat and poultry.
  7. Bone: Bone as derived from cattle, sheep, goat, pigs etc. which can be wed as bone meal for livestock feed, making of hoes, provide vaccines etc.


Parts or divisions of farm Animals.

The body of farm animals is divided into four groups. These are

  1. Head: This is the upper part of the body. Brain, eyes, ear, tongue and nose are the major organs of found in the head.
  2. Thoracic Cavity: The thoracic Cavity refers to the chest region of the body. The major organs in the thoracic cavity include heart, lungs and treachery.
  3. Abdominal Cavity: The abdominal cavity refers to the stomach region of the body. The major organs in the abdominal cavity include liver, uterus, stomach, oviduct or fallopian tube, kidney, ovary, spleen, intestine, gall bladder and pancreas.
  4. Limbs: The limbs include the fore limbs (Hands) and hind limbs (legs). They are used by farm animals for walking.

Some of the systems which maintain the body are:

  1. Respiratory system
  2. Digestive system
  3. Circulatory System
  4. Reproductive system
  5. Nervous system


Draw and label the following farm animals

  1. Pig
  2. Goat
  3. Rabbit
  4. Fowl
Skip to toolbar